Intro “Cutscene” and more! [VIDEO]

Earlier this week on Twitter I said that I’d updated the way the Terminals look in Deep. That they were animated and generally much prettier. Because they were animated, I was going to show them off in a video. While I was recording the footage for that video, I thought, ‘Hey, while I’m here, I may as well show off the Hammer Arm that I talked about in a previous update. So that was that video ready to go.

But then I’d just finished implementing the dynamic dialogue engine (I’ll explain this in a bit) which is what lets me make cutscenes in Deep (Well they aren’t really cutscenes but… You’ll see), and I’m relatively happy with how the game’s intro looks and works… And I just had to make a video of that as well! So now I’ve got Deep Preview Video #6. I don’t know what to call it because it shows a lot of different things, not the least of which is just the general look and feel of the game, which has changed quite a bit since the last video. Without further ado:

I’m really happy with how the terminal looks. Just compare it to the old one, below!

I’m sure you’ll all agree it’s an improvement.

And how about that dialogue? Your robot will actually have quite a bit to say throughout the course of the game, and what’s really cool is that the stuff he says is a combination of randomly picked dialogue, and context-sensitive stuff. That means he’ll say different things depending on what’s going on in the game. For example, in the video, you saw him wonder if his Bumper Bar was still working. But if I, the player, had started using the Bumper Bar before he’d said that, he says something more along the lines of “I’m glad my Bumper Bar is still functional!”. This is a pretty minor example, but it gives your robot a real sense of personality, and adds quite a bit of depth and flavor to the game.

 

Oh, and today’s a Thursday, so as usual there’s a new Pic of the Day! Go check it out here.

2 thoughts on “Intro “Cutscene” and more! [VIDEO]

  1. Pochiman

    Great. And I love the robot dialogue thing, too. I’m sure he says something about his health level, too.

    Those new terminals are looking good too

    Reply

Leave a Reply

